Locking (a little) Love in Sydney

Following my trip to Singapore I headed for Sydney – where I was expecting to see masses of love-locks. A famous bridge, romantic views, plenty of waterside walkways… the perfect environment for love-locks proliferate.

P1000253

Apparently not.

I saw only a handful on the Harbour Bridge and none elsewhere. But an internet search reveals that the council are fairly active with removing them, so maybe there have been a lot more there over the years.

P1000292

P1000297

Of those few that were there, I found one particularly interesting. There are no names, dates, or messages, just two sets of numbers. They look like longitude and latitude, and an online search took me to Kiel, Germany. Is this where the lockers-of-love are from? Have they left a romantic footprint by way of GPS coordinates? I like to think so.

P1000300

 

Leave a comment